Craigiehall Temple is a unique property combining a contemporary modern house with a circular stone temple originally dating from 1759.


Situated in the exclusive area of Cammo, the home offers a comfortable lifestyle along with a versatile historic temple which is sure to be a talking point for any visitors to the home. The expansive property has several bedrooms, and features extensive wrap-around gardens, superb views and a rural setting close to central Edinburgh.

The home is entered through an impressive glazed vestibule which provides access to both the main accommodation and to the tower. The stone tower is arranged over two floors with the dining/sitting room on the ground floor linked through a spiral stone staircase to the bedroom and en suite shower room on the upper level. This tower, originally constructed in 1759, could make an impressive guesthouse, and has a fascinating history.

Craigiehall Temple was also known as The Leny Temple and still features a splendid pillared portico by Sir William Bruce, the architect of the Palace of Holyrood house. The architectural value of the Temple lies mainly in its portico. Bruce designed it for the fine mansion of Craigiehall just across the River Almond which he built for the second Earl of Annandale whose arms are carved above the entrance.

The main body of the house is also arranged over two floors with the reception areas on the upper floor and the bedrooms on the lower floor. This arrangement has been designed to take advantage of the stunning open views over the valley. The upper floor houses two reception rooms with access to a large balcony, as well as the spacious dining kitchen with granite work surfaces and oak hand-built units. The kitchen has sliding doors providing access to a second balcony on that level.


The ground floor provides the bedroom accommodation comprising three bedrooms with en suite facilities are complemented by two further bedrooms - one of which is currently utilised as a home office. There is also a useful utility room on this level. The original tower was originally added to in 1996 and was further extended in 2005. The extended area features hand-cut cullalo stone sourced from Stirling as well as reclaimed Scottish slate for the roof.

Craigiehall Temple is located in a convenient semi-rural situation to the west of Edinburgh. It is extremely well placed for access both to the city centre, as well as Edinburgh Airport, the Forth Road Bridge and the Central Scotland motorway network. Excellent local amenities are on hand at nearby Barnton. There is a retail park at Craigleith and further out of town shopping facilities at The Gyle Shopping Centre. There are also wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities are on the doorstep. Historic Cramond Village has a picturesque harbour with boat club and a beach promenade. There are further lovely walks along the River Almond, whilst the cycle path network extends to the city centre and west to South Queensferry. Several well-known golf courses, including Bruntsfield Links and the Royal Burgess, are located nearby. The area also offers excellent schooling as a number of well-regarded private schools are all within striking distance. The house is in close proximity to nearby Cammo Estate, an important natural habitat and mecca for local wildlife enthusiasts. The veteran trees and associated parkland habitat, the rich and diverse fauna, the number of plant species of restricted distribution and the ecological history all contribute to the significant ecological value that has led to the designation of Cammo as a site of importance for nature conservation.

Craigiehall Temple, 66 cameo Road, EH12 OAR

Offers over £895,000

6 bed detached house with 3 public rooms

ESPC ref: 382244

EPC rating: D

Selling solicitor: Clancy Hendrie Legal

Contact: 0131 253 2998